Travel search
Can't find it? Try searching for it :)

Skaftárstofa Visitor Centre, Kirkjubæjarklaustur

In Kirkjubæjarklaustur the Tourist Information Office is situated in Skaftárstofa, on your left hand as you drive through the village.

Exhibition about the moss

Documentary Films:

Eruption in Grímsvötn 2011

Western part of Vatnajökull National Park

Opening hours:

Spring opening, May 13th to 18th of June, every day from 9 to 17.

Summer opening, June 19th to 23th of August, every day from 9 to 18.

Autumn opening, August 24th to Sept 30th, every day from 9 to 17.

Winter opening, Oct 1st to May 15th, weekdays from 9 to 14.

Participant in VAKINN Iceland tourism's official quality assurance organization

Skaftárstofa Visitor Centre, Kirkjubæjarklaustur

Klausturvegur 10

GPS Points N63° 47' 20.850" W18° 3' 0.127"

+354 487-4620

Opening period All year
Vakinn certification VAKINN is the official quality assurance organization for Icelandic tourism. Click to see more VAKINN is the official quality assurance organization for Icelandic tourism. Click to see more

Travel directory for Skaftárstofa Visitor Centre, Kirkjubæjarklaustur

The official travel index of Iceland


Adventure Hotel Geirland
  • Síða
  • 880 Kirkjubæjarklaustur
  • 487-4677
Hörgsland Travel Service
  • Hörgsland I
  • 880 Kirkjubæjarklaustur
  • 487-6655, 894-9249
Eldhraun Holiday Home
  • Syðri-Steinsmýri
  • 880 Kirkjubæjarklaustur
  • 694-1259, 858-7657
Guesthouse at Seglbudir Landbrot
  • Seglbúðum
  • 880 Kirkjubæjarklaustur
  • 697-6106

South Iceland

Towns & Villages

The south of Iceland has several towns and villages, each with its own style, charm and points of interest. Selfoss is the largest town and has a variety of shops, services, many restaurants and fast food places. Most towns are close to the main route, making them accessible and enjoyable.

Explore map by categories

Map Höfn Kirkjubæjarklaustur Vík Vestmannaeyjar Hvolsvöllur Flúðir Laugarvatn Reykholt Laugarás Borg Brautarholt Hveragerði Árnes Selfoss Hella Stokkseyri Eyrarbakki Þykkvibær Þórlákshöfn